Awards 2020

Announcing the Winners of the 6th ISGAN Award of Excellence in ‘Digitalization Enabling Consumer Empowerment’



ISGAN Award of Excellence

Each year, in partnership with the Global Smart Grid Federation (GSGF), The International Smart Grid Action Network (ISGAN) presents the Annual ISGAN Award of Excellence (AoE) to recognize excellence in smart grid projects, policies, and programs around the world. ISGAN brings together 25 countries from across five continents and the European Commission to advance the development and deployment of smarter, cleaner, and more flexible electricity grids around the world. The ISGAN Award of Excellence seeks to leverage leadership and innovation in smart grids to accelerate the global exchange of best practices and promote replication or adaptation of proven concepts in other markets, countries, and regions. By providing a showcase for exemplars in the global smart grid community, the Award also draws attention to the value offered by smart grid systems.

Awards Competition Official Rules

Awards Fact Sheet

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Theme for 2020

The 2020 ISGAN Award of Excellence recognizes exemplars in the field of smart grids with a special focus on “Digitalization Enabling Consumer Empowerment”.


Competition at a Glance

For the Sixth Annual ISGAN Award of Excellence competition, a wide range of smart grid project nominations were received, representing projects from 9 different countries throughout the world. The winning projects were selected by an independent, international jury of smart grid experts, led by Mr. Reji Pillai Kumar, Executive Director of the Global Smart Grid Federation (GSGF). The jury selected the winning projects based on the following five criteria: potential impact, innovation, consumer benefits & empowerments, economic rationale, the potential for replication and adaptation.


Winning Projects

The following projects were selected as this year’s winning projects.

Smart Grids and Smart Communities Demonstration Project

New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organization (Japan)

(Partner Organizations)

– ELES, d.o.o., Hitachi, Ltd.

Future Flow


(Partner Organizations)

-3E SA, Austrian Power Grid, C.N.T.E.E. Transelectrica S.A, cyberGRID GmbH &Co KG, Elektro Ljubljana d.d., Elektroenergetski koordinacioni centar Ltd, Elektroinštitut Milan Vidmar, GEN-I d.o.o., MAVIR ZRt., SAP SE, THALES DIS France SA


Digitizing the Customer Experience with Real-Time Control

London Hydro (Canada)

Members of the Jury

Our grateful thanks to the members of the 2020 ISGAN Award of Excellence jury for contributing their time and expertise to the evaluation process!

Reji Kumar Pillai (India), Jury Chair

– Chairman, Global Smart Grid Federation (GSGF)

– President, India Smart Grid Forum

Kentaro Akiyama (Japan)

–Professor, Seijoh University

-Advisor, Japan Smart Community Alliance

Cheong Kam Hoong (Malaysia)

– Industry Advisor of University Tunku Abdul Rahman

– GSGF Ambassador

Marc Boillot (France)

– Founder and CEO of Algorus Consulting

– GSGF Ambassador (Europe & Africa)

Maria Sandqvist (Sweden)

– Executive Director of the Swedish Smart Grid Forum

– Member of the Energy Development Board at the Swedish Energy Agency

Ravi Sweethapathy (Canada)

– Executive Chairman, Biosirus Inc.

– GSGF Ambassador (Americas)

Robert George Stephen

(South Africa)

– Technology Master Specialist, ESKOM

– President, CIGRE


back to top